Home  |  Resources  |  FAQs  

Other Schools of Astrology

i.e. non-traditional Astrology

Different Horoscope Systems Described below:

Western Astrology

Western astrology is the most common system of astrology currently in use. However, it has a number of different sub divisions:

Ancient Astrology seeks to maintain the earliest traditions of astrology and so does not use the recently discovered planets such as Pluto or newly developed House systems.

Sidereal Astrology uses a different calculation method for determining the location of planets within a horoscope. This approach was very common with a number of esoteric groups in the early twentieth century.

New Age Astrology consists of a number of competing approaches, but is easily recognized by its use of the Seven Rays, cosmic forces that were first suggest by the Theosophical movement. New Age astrology often uses intuitive approaches to both construct and interpret horoscope charts.

Horary Astrology is a traditional use of astrology for divination or fortune telling. A chart is cast at the time of the question being asked to the astrologer and the interpretation of the birth chart of the question provides the answer for the client.

Heliocentric Astrology- is the latest attempt to bring astrology into line with scientific progress. In this system the chart is based on the centrality of the Sun in our solar system and this produces very different looking charts.

Vedic Astrology

Also called Hindu Astrology, Vedic astrology is possibly the most ancient astrological system still in use today. Vedic astrology uses a sidereal approach to the construction of charts, which is a different way of viewing and calculating the heavens for a horoscope chart. Vedic astrology tends to use a lot of detailed sub divisions of a chart that lead to the creation of supplementary charts to deepen the analysis.

It is a very mathematical approach to astrology and Jyotisha as Vedic astrology is known requires many years of study to perfect. Vedic astrology is most commonly used to predict events and destinies (especially marital matters) whereas Western astrology is more commonly used for the psychological portrait of a person that it can provide.

Chinese Astrology

Chinese astrology represents the third great branch of world astrology. It has a very different system to both Vedic and Western astrology as it assigns people their sign on the basis of the year in which they were born (the year of the Rat, the year of Monkey and so on) rather than the month. There are five elements in Chinese astrology: Wood, Water, Metal, Earth and Fire.

Each person has their sign, based on the lunar year of their birth and their element based on the lunar month in which they were born. This means that one person might be a Metal Dog and would have very different personal characteristics to an Earth Dog person. The difference between Chinese astrology and Western astrology means that many people fruitfully explore both their Western horoscope and their Chinese horoscope.

Other known schools of astrology:
1) Cosmobiology / Midpoints
2) Harmonic
3) Uranian


FREE Daily

Astrology Basics



Zodiac Secrets


Time Machine

Chinese Zodiac



Terms of Service  |  Privacy Policy Copyright - HoroscopeZen.com